Hippocrates & Galenus

The humours 2nd century

Hippocrates, the ‘father of medicine’, was the first to seek explanations for mental illness in the lack of balance between the four bodily humours instead of in evil, supernatural powers. This view was copied and used by Galenus in the 2nd century.

To Hippocrates (ca. 460 B.C.-370 B.C.), the ‘Father of Medicine’, mental illness, just like other illnesses, was the result of the four bodily humours being out of balance. Therefore, he regarded mental illness simply as a consequence of purely physical processes. He wrote about epilepsy, known then as the divine illness: ‘it appears to me to be nowise more divine nor more sacred than other diseases, but has a natural cause, the same as other affections.’ His biological ideas about the nature of mental illness made him the first person to break away from previous explanations – that it was due to the anger of the gods. Galen (131-211 A.D.) adopted most of Hippocrates’ ideas about mental illness. He was the Roman emperor’s personal physician, and would remain the absolute authority in Western medicine until deep into the Middle Ages.

However, Hippocrates’ ideas were not generally accepted in Greek society. Few Greeks thought it implausible that Sophocles’ Ajax was made mad by the Goddess Athena, and consequently slaughtered sheep thinking that they were the enemy. Most Greeks and Romans tended to seek salvation from Asklepios. They preferred to steer clear of the cold and hot baths, the bloodletting, the purges and the other somatic remedies prescribed by Hippocrates and Galen.

Hippocrates & Galenus

Les humeurs 2me siècle

Hippocrate, « le père de la médecine », était  le premier à chercher  l’explication pour les maladies mentales non pas dans l’existence de forces malignes  et surnaturelles, mais dans le manque d’équilibre entre les quatre humeurs. Ces points de vue sont repris   par Galien au IIe siècle.

Pour Hippocrate (ca. 460-370 av. J.-C.),  toute affection, y compris mentale, est le résultat  d’un déséquilibre entre les quatre humeurs corporelles. Pour lui, les maladies de l’esprit n’étaient donc que la conséquence de processus purement physiques. Au sujet de l’épilepsie, alors considérée comme « maladie sacrée », il écrit : « Elle ne me paraît avoir rien de plus divin ni de plus sacré que les autres, mais la nature et la source en sont les mêmes que pour les autres maladies. » En proclamant une  cause biologique pour la maladie mentale, il était le premier à ne pas recourir à des explications relevant de forces supérieures malignes. Galien (131-211) a repris  la plupart des idées d’Hippocrate sur le sujet. Médecin de l’empereur romain de Rome, il restera l’autorité médicale de l’Occident jusque tard dans le Moyen- Âge.

Les points de vue d’Hippocrate  étaient pourtant loin de faire l’unanimité dans la société de l’époque. Peu de Grecs jugeaient  invraisemblable  la pièce de Sophocle, qui montre l’Ajax   puni de folie par la déesse Athéna- si bien qu’il se met  à tuer  des moutons en les prenant pour ses ennemis. La plupart des Grecs et des Romains cherchaient avant tout leur salut auprès d’Asclépios et n’accordaient pas grand crédit aux bains chauds ou froids, aux saignées, aux purges et autres remèdes corporels d’Hippocrate ou de Galien.